NSSF http://www.gunvote.org

BHA Survive


Digital Daily Gun News Website

CA – RETAILERS – New California gun control law restricts semi-automatic rifle purchases to one every 30 days

One of the broadest gun control measures signed by Gov. Gavin Newsom this year will prevent Californians from buying more than one semi-automatic rifle per month, and raise the minimum age to purchase a high-powered rifle to 21. The law, Senate Bill 61, builds on a previous restriction that prohibits Californians from buying more than one handgun within 30 days.

The limitation on buying semi-automatic rifles to once per month takes effect on July 1, 2021. The part of the law that raises the minimum age to 21 for semi-automatic rifle purchases takes effect Jan. 1. California Senator Anthony Portantino, D-La Cañada Flintridge, said in a written statement that SB 61 targets rifles such as the AR-15, which has been used in mass shootings from Newtown, Connecticut to Las Vegas and Pittsburgh. “These particular violent weapons are not needed for hunting and have become increasingly the gun of choice for mass shootings,” Portantino said. “We felt very strongly that the hunter’s exemption needed to be removed for this weapon.” His law also removed an exemption that allowed people under the age of 21 to buy a semi-automatic centerfire rifle if they have a valid hunting license.  [full article]

 

Download
Our Mobile App

and get our latest news and featured videos instantly

Download Now